Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society initiates new members

Jennifer Byrd


Alpha Eta Alpha, the RSC chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society, inducted nine new members April 5 at the Tom Steed Building.

The chapter also named their advisers as honorary members. Chapter President Tammie Sharp presented framed certificates to professors Suzanne Thomas and Caryl Gibbs, thanking them for their service and dedication.

After a keynote speech by former Oklahoma Poet Laureate Carl Sennhenn about making dreams a reality through scholarship, the nine inductees performed a lighting ceremony and took the traditional oath.

PTK New Inductees

(Photos by Marisa Caban)

New Inductees:

Lacee Woodrum

Gary “Trey” VanCuren

Jennifer Byrd

Corynn McMurray

Jennifer Burris

Cynthia Parsons

Allona Cearley

Miranda Conway

Brad Reed

How to Join

PTK sends email invitations each semester to potential members that meet minimum GPA standards. The cost of a lifetime membership is $75.

According to, “Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.”

For more information about PTK, contact Suzanne Thomas at or Caryl Gibbs at






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: