Student Senators ready for involvement

Chelsea Ratterman, Editor in Chief

UPDATE: The 16th Student Senator was announced Thursday as Brandon White. Congrats!

A new batch of Student Senators was elected Sept. 5 and 6 through online voting on D2L. Fifteen senators were elected, and a run-off was held for the final spot Sept. 12.

Student Senators are sworn into office, before their first meeting, by advisor Kirby Harzman. Photo taken by: Denis Gosnell

During the swearing-in ceremony on Sept. 11, Dr. Jeanie Webb remarked on the upcoming year, and, due to her proximity with many senators, that this group of senators has great potential.

“I’m so happy for this year,” Elizabeth Larios, Student Senate President said, “we have a good group and we’re going to do good things this year.”

After the swearing-in ceremony, new senators went into their first session.

“I’m so excited for this year. I’m really happy to be getting more involved on campus,” Paige Garrity, one of the new senators said.

Student Senate meets every Tuesday at 2 p.m. in Student Center room 123.

What is Student Senate?

Student Senate is the student government body on campus. They represent the interests of the students and present changes to the campus by submitting legislation to be passed. They are also responsible for the disbursement of funds to clubs on campus.

To receive funds, a club or organization must submit a request for funding, to be voted upon. Funding requests can be found on the Student Senate page, under Student Activities at

The senate also holds campus wide activities, as its own body or in association with other clubs.

One upcoming event is the V.O.I.C.E./O.I.L voter registration drive. There will be tables set up in the Student Center and around campus to register to vote for this year’s upcoming presidential election.

If you didn’t make it into Senate in the fall, keep an eye out for open spots in the spring to get involved on campus.

Student Senators

Executive Officers

President- Elizabeth Larios

Vice President- Zach Lewallen

Treasurer- Carson Stramski

Secretary- Austin Davis

Division Merit Appointee

Social Sciences- Alex Kessler

Humanitites- Ira Daniel

Business/Technology- Jeremiah Clubb

Engineering/Technology- Ryan Melton

Kody Sinko- Health Sciences


Charlotte Welch

Chelsea Ratterman

Destiny Roberts

Jared Bradley

Justin Scrimshire

Kaitlin Hahn

Macy Miller

Maryann Scroggins

Mina Chong

Paige Baker

Paige Garrity

Raquel Burgess

Ryan Maynord

Victoria Whitehurst

Blake Pillars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: